Authority gets two new Board members

Richard Raupe of Okeene and Kenzie Wheeler of Duncan were each approved to seats on the OMPA Board of Directors at its monthly meeting in December.

Raupe is the Town Administrator for Okeene. His career in municipal government spans more than 30 years, including stints as both a town administrator and mayor. Okeene is the third community where he has served as town administrator.  Raupe has also served on numerous boards and authorities during his long career. He fills the position vacated by Dale Bunn of Purcell. The move is effective Jan. 1, 2024 and lasts through the remainder of the term at the 2024 Annual Meeting. This is the third Okeene representative to serve on the OMPA Board.

Wheeler is the current Interim City Manager at Duncan, due to the previous city manager – Kimberly Meek – taking the same position at the City of Stillwater. Wheeler had previously served as the city’s Assistant City Manager. The Board seat’s term lasts to the 2025 Annual Meeting.

A wholesale power supplier with 42 municipal members throughout Oklahoma, OMPA is governed by its 11-member Board of Directors, who are elected by representatives of the members. The board is comprised of elected officials, city managers and others who are involved in the operating or governing of their electric systems. Board members serve staggered three-year terms, with one-third of them coming up for election each year.